Nick Cave creates new song, film score for Amy Winehouse biopic

The soundtrack and trailer to the upcoming film Back to Black, based on the life of singer Amy Winehouse have been released, revealing some interesting details.

Back to Black is the highly anticipated feature film from filmmaker and visual artist Sam Taylor-Johnson (Fifty Shades of Grey, Nowhere Boy), set to be released in cinemas in Australia on April 11 and New Zealand on May 2.

British actress Marisa Abela (Industry) plays the music icon in the biopic that charts Winehouse’s personal and professional life in London and her extraordinary rise to fame, including the release of the Grammy Award-winning album the film is named after. Winehouse made a huge impact on the music scene, selling more than 30 million records worldwide, and today generating more than 80 million streams per month.

‘Back to Black: Songs from the Original Motion Picture’ will feature three original recordings from Amy’s influential debut, “Frank”, three songs from Amy’s multi award-winning release “Back To Black” and includes a new track, ‘Song for Amy’, sung by Nick Cave. The film’s score was composed and recorded by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis.

A further 5 songs from artists who were an inspiration to Amy, The Shangri-Las, Billie Holiday, Minnie Riperton, Dinah Washington and Sarah Vaughan, whose voices all appear at key moments in the film, will also be featured on the album.  The soundtrack will be released on April 11.

Six-time Grammy Award winner Winehouse died from alcohol poisoning at her north London home on July 23, 2011. Winehouse, who struggled with drink and drug problems through much of her career, was 27 years old.

Track listing

  1. Amy Winehouse – What Is It About Men
  2. Amy Winehouse – Stronger Than Me
  3. Amy Winehouse – Know You Now
  4. The Shangri-Las – Leader Of The Pack
  5. Billie Holiday – All Of Me
  6. Amy Winehouse – Back To Black
  7. Minnie Riperton – Les Fleurs
  8. Dinah Washington – Mad About The Boy
  9. Amy Winehouse – Love Is A Losing Game
  10. Sarah Vaughan featuring Clifford Brown – Embraceable You
  11. Amy Winehouse – Tears Dry on Their Own
  12. Nick Cave – Song For Amy

Member Login