Electrolux Appetite for Excellence finalists announced


Brendan Hill, ARIA Restaurant
Brendan Hill, ARIA Restaurant
This year's Electrolux Appetite for Excellence finalists have been announced

The barometer for upcoming hospitality stars, the Appetite for Excellence program helps mentor the country’s rising talents.

This year’s judging panel includes Quay’s Peter Gilmore, Marque and Pei Modern’s Mark Best, Luke Mangan (Glass, Salt Grill), Peter Sullivan (Aria, Chiswick, North Bondi Fish), Lisa van Haandel (Longrain Melbourne, The Beach Hotel Byron Bay) and new judges David Thompson and James Viles (Biota Dining), to name a few.

Prizes across the various categories includes an overseas trip, money-can’t-buy mentoring and experience, plus kitchen equipment and a national publicity campaign.

The 2014 finalists are:

Young Chef

Brendan Hill – Aria Restaurant
Dale Sutton – Momofuku
Frank Fawkner – Muse Restaurant
Hanz Gueco – Café Paci
Jordan McLeod – Cook and Waiter
Mirek Anderson – Quay
Simon Tarlington – Quay
Todd Hunt – Botanic Gardens Restaurant
Adrian Walker – Magille Estate
Nick Tadija – The Playford
Michael Cole – Ethos Eat Drink
Aaron Starling – Bistro Guillaume
Andre McLoughlin – The Royal Mail Hotel
Behrod  Shokuhi – Beasley’s Tea House
David Robson – Royal George
George Tomlin – The Town Mouse
Hajimi Horiguchi – Sake Restaurant
Hugh Allen – Vue De Monde
Jake Kellie – The Commoner
Matthew Kennedy – Hunters Kitchen
Emma Barnes – Clarke’s of North Beach

Young Waiter

Ambrose Chiang  – Momofuku Seiobo
Shanteh Wong  – Quay
Aleksandrs Balodis –  Stokehouse
Brooke Adey – Chianti Classico
Alice Chugg  – Ethos Eat Drink
Gerald Ryan  – Brae Restaurant
Jasmine Wakely –  The Commoner
Lauren Spyrou – Bistro Guillaume

Winners will be announced in August, while the Young Restaurateur finalists will be announced on 30 June.


Print Recipe


Let us keep you up to date with our weekly MiNDFOOD e-newsletters which include the weekly menu plan, health and news updates or tempt your taste buds with the MiNDFOOD Daily Recipe. 

Member Login