Please create an account
or Log in to subscribe


or


Subscribe to our RSS feeds Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Subscribe to our RSS feeds Watch us on Youtube View us on Instagram

7 surprising foods that actually aren’t vegetarian

7 surprising foods that actually aren’t vegetarian

Switching to a vegetarian or vegan diet? You may be surprised to find a lot of everyday foods aren't suitable for plant-based eating.

7 surprising foods that actually aren’t vegetarian

1. Parmesan cheese

Parmesan cheese is made with rennet, enzymes from calf stomach that is used throughout the cheese-making process. Pecorino is also made with rennet.

Lucky for cheese lovers, there are a number of vegetarian cheese alternatives available now, just be sure to check the ingredients list for rennet.

2. Wine

You might have seen vegan wine on the shelves and wondered, isn’t it already vegan? Technically not. Many wines are processed with a number of animal products to clarify them, such as milk protein, egg whites, gelatin and fish bladders.

3. Beer

Beer is often processed the same way as wine, therefore making it non-vegan.

4. Worcestershire sauce

Like fish sauce, Worcestershire sauce is made from anchovies. They are mixed with red onions and garlic and left to ferment for 18-24 months. There are vegetarian-friendly alternatives out there, so be sure to check your supermarket.

5. Potato chips

You’d think a packet of potato chips is an easy vegetarian or vegan snack, but be sure to check the label as some chips contain dairy products or are cooked in animal fat.

6. Pesto

Traditional pesto is made with parmesan cheese, so due to the rennet, is no considered vegetarian.

7. Marshmallows

Most marshmallows contain gelatin, an animal protein made from the tendons and ligaments of animals.

Share on Facebook Pin on Pinterest Share by Email

Post a Comment

© MiNDFOOD 2020. All Rights Reserved

Web Design Sydney